Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-27 - 9:38 p.m.

You are the charming, daring, Holly Golightly!
You are HOLLY GOLIGHTLY from the movie BREAKFAST AT
TIFFANY'S. You are charming, spontaneous, and
fun to be around, to both your friends and
people who don't know you well.. but inside you
are probably a little frightened of the future
and don'y really know what you want to do in
life. In fact, you might often feel blue, or
even worse, get a case of the "mean
reds"! You try to stay friendly with
everyone and close to no one, but you have to
realize that people DO belong to each other.
That is what makes life so frightening and
wonderful.



Which Heroine of the Silver Screen are YOU?
brought to you by Quizilla

It's fun to sometimes waste an entire entry on one of these crazy quizzes. Except that I loved this. I ought to balance it out as to which leading man I am...I would hope for Gregory Peck, but I'd probably come out Dan Akroyd. But in the "leading lady" category, I loved this result of Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly, which is probably way more true than I am willing to admit. Okay, so I do like George Peppard.

Okay, maybe I'll write something more substantial. Just about all I did this whole weekend was go see Fahrenheit 9/11. Since so many showings were sold out, it did take just about all weekend to accomplish this...it just about took all weekend to just work my way in and out of the various multiplex parking garages!

Thank God for on-line ticket-buying (once I realized that was really the only viable option), otherwise I never would have gotten into this film.

And I recommend it to everyone, especially Bush supporters (do you REALLY know what you are supporting?). Of course, I imagine very few of them would be caught dead in there, so all those huge opening numbers will be for naught (Michael Moore is just preaching to the choir). Because I am afraid the truth is that Bush supporters really just don't care. So what if innocent Iraqi women and children are being bombed just so that investors can make millions of off armament sales, the Iraqis are all heathens anyway. Bush supporters probably think they are doing them a favor, "kill them now while we can still get some benefit out of them, because otherwise, once the rapture comes, they'd have to endure many years of tribulation and then an eternity in hell for being nonbelievers."

I have to kind of laugh at that (despite how serious and frightening that is), they're non-believers in the name for God being "God" (or maybe I should say "Jesus"); instead, for them, God is "Allah". They're being consigned to an eternity in hell because of a LANGUAGE problem! Bush supporters think that God is like a computer letting you into a pay site: "what is your user name and password?", and the site is CASE SENSITIVE. "Allah"..."Allah"..."Allah"... "I'm sure that was what it was."

"I'm sorry, you are not authorized...if you forgot your password, click here" and the computer opens up the screen that provides seven years of tribulation. Then maybe you will "remember" your password. "Gee, was this one of those passwords that needed a number as well as letter, I can't REMEMBER!"

I used to have a little more tolerance for "people of faith", because my idea was "Well, how are they supposed to KNOW, really?"

Well sure, with faith there always is a little element of walking forward in the dark or into the unknown, but the thing is, you DO have a conscience, you do have love, you do have compassion, you do have intuition, you truly know right from wrong, you aren't left totally the dark (or else you are utterly insane). You just kind of intrinsically know if something is right or not, and somehow this whole rapture thing is just so wrong. It's all about God choosing some people over others, and the ones he has chosen are Christians, and then a limited number of Jews who have converted. What kind of God is that? It isn't how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, but into how many pieces debating theologicans can CUT that head of the pin.

"We're playing Monopoly and the only piece I will use is the Top Hat! If I don't get to play with the Top Hat, first I'm going to pour dark ink over this entire Monopoly board, and then I'm going to rip each and every property card in half, then I'm going to melt in a pan on the stove all the houses and hotels, and finally I'm going to throw the whole board into the fireplace!" THAT kind of God.

God doesn't "choose" any more than the electricity that comes out of your wall outlet avoids operating a vaccuum cleaner made in Japan, or a vibrating dildo ordered off the Internet.

Tiny little rules about what words you can or cannot say, who you can have sex with, what you do on Sundays, where you give your money, and how you spend your time have absolutely no bearing on an infinite, eternal Universe, where every living creature (those that we can understand and then those we can't even contemplate) has just as much right as any other to thrive and to live the very best life it possibly can, for now and for whatever genuine "always" there really is. That includes people who have never even heard the name of Jesus Christ (and by the way, to Moslems, Jesus was a prophet, he just wasn't their most important one...Moslems give the primacy of their allegiance to GOD, not to any prophet).

Why, I wonder, do as many as 40% of our nation's voters, presumably a bunch who had at least a grade school education, put all their store in one bizarre acid-trip of a chapter in the Bible that didn't even have a SINGLE THING to do with Jesus? By the time that thing was written, Jesus had been gone for 50, 100 years, maybe even more. That would be like me writing some fantasy story about Igor Stravinsky or something (whose music I truly loved)--I haven't even MET the guy, so how do I presume to create some Earth-shattering fiction about him and then pawn it off onto others as the entire way they ought to live their lives?

The Gospels themselves were written from 50 to 100 years after Jesus's death, so "Revelations" must have come much after those. Why does IT become the entire GOSPEL, even overshadowing such things as Jesus's Sermon on the Mount? May as well base your entire philosophy on the predictions of Nostradamus, or Dan Brown's The DaVinci Code (it was a fun puzzle, too, full of symbols and anagrams and rhymes), or perhaps Lewis Carroll's Jabberwocky. I'm waiting for the time to be "brillig" so that I will be sure to watch out for the slithy toves gyring and gimbeling in the wabe. I've made sure that I am one of the borogroves so that I can be mimsy, and upon the arrival of the vorpal blade that goes snicker-snack, I will become one of the elect mome raths and get to outgrabe while the unprepared get burbled in the tulgey wood.

If anyone truly knows Jesus, he or she will truly know that "Revelations" sure isn't him. Those who think otherwise are those who would have fought their way into the lifeboats of the Titanic and then sat idly by with self-satisfied expressions on their face, arrogantly watching the rest of their fellow passengers painfully freeze to death or drown in the punishing North Atlantic waters.

Of course, the issues with Bush go far beyond just the issue of Iraq, but regardless, his supporters really just don't care. While I suppose no one is under any obligation to HELP his fellow man, at least he ought to not aggressively DO HARM.

Those people who believe in "Revelations" seem to have one thing right...what keeps one "out of heaven" (or, symbolically, I should say, separates one from connection with spiritual benevolence and an eternity of love and fulfillment) is "the mark of the beast," which one website described as some kind of economic debit card urgically implanted into the right hand or forehead. In other words, it was succumbing, not to God, but to some kind of high-tech money force. I think such an electronic implant into the body of each and every person on Earth is something that George Bush would dearly LOVE. But are these people saying that George Bush is the "beast"? No they are not, and I wonder why not. [I'm not saying he is, either, because I don't even believe in the concept.] It certainly isn't because he is a holy man, or some kind of prophet himself. The only "prophet" George Bush is, is "PROFIT"--profit from YOUR tax dollars, profit from your materialisim, and profit from your ignorance. Now, THAT's the Revelation that one needs to give allegiance to.

previous - next

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!