Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-28 - 8:06 p.m.

Yikes, I still have three more entries to do about my cruise, and now so many other things are happening now that school has started again! I wish I could split my life into two, one half to live it, and the other half with as much time to write about it!

But I HAVE to finish the cruise chapters...some people have asked me to print them off into a "book" so that they can read about the cruise (people who don't have access to this diary), and I promised them that I would do it for them. Also, today, I cooked up the additional idea of reading the story on video tape and interspersing the tale with scenes that I filmed. I don't know if that idea will work out or not--will it just be a talking head, MINE, or will it actually be interesting to watch...not sure, yet. I have to edit through two hours worth of cruise footage. Anyway, the "cruise" project is far from over, and yet life still goes on.

Just today I got a review of the video I made that I wrote about in other entries here. This was from an on-line friend who is a teacher, whom I have never met personally, but we correspond a lot and he reports that he has printed off 500 pages of my writings from a site we both post on. Wow, I am honored and impressed! He refers to himself as "your greatest fan." I can't tell you how much that means to me. (But you're all writers, too, so I know you will understand.)

So anyway, here comes the review--I hope he won't mind my putting it here. It probably won't interest most readers (who, obviously, haven't seen the video, only read about it), but still, I think this deserves a special place in my diary.

"JOURNEY INTO THE LANDSCAPE OF LIBERTY" Review

Thanks for allowing me to view your documentary. It was a very enjoyable 2 hours for me.

The packaging was professionally done. The labels on the both DVDs were a nice classy touch. Cinematically it was well done. I truly enjoyed the musical choices very much.

I prefer a certain amount of natural glitches of children being children, seeing the filmmaker mirrored against the window and the rainy days, because it gives a real authentic feel to watching as opposed to a completely staged performance by the children and the beautiful perfect sunny days .The lead ins and editing were seamless and enjoyable to watch. It was a bonus to see the filmmaker in the mirror window.

The opening of the lift off in the plane was really a nice touch. It was nice to see the excitement of the children and they are all my son�s age. So I know what it is like to get a group of them together.

Philadelphia-

I kept thinking that my son would have been bored to learn about many of things in a classroom but when seen in real life it would have a very different effect. The reenactment was cool and I loved the night time scenes you filmed.

Amish Country-

It makes one really glad that we have modern day connivances. My I.M.W.T.K. (inquiring minds want to know) question during this clip was--who was the guy chewing gum?

Chocolate World-

This is sadly one of my favorite clips because I am a massive Hershey chocolate lover. I am now going to have to add this as a place we HAVE to visit. My kids would love it and I have to admit that I would to.

Damn you--I have that song in my head now and it won�t get out�"I�ve got a Golden Ticket�. I would like to add at this time that you sound soooooo much like a teacher.

I loved the LA to DC shirts that the kids wore. It was nice to see clips of Gettysburg and Charlottesville. I especially enjoyed the highlights that the children recounted. It always amazes me the perspective that a child has on a scenery or event.

Colonial Virginia-

Ok I have to say it. Check out the kid with the wild hair. Wow! What is his name? I also loved the entire �attitude� that these kids had. This was a great depiction of what it is like to be a 12 year old kid.

Jamestown-

My daughter would really love to visit here. She is very into history. It is her passion. So these clips I showed her and she mentioned that she would like to go again. We went when she was too young to really appreciate it. Now she making a list of places she wants to visit. This is one on her list.

Washington D.C.-

Mrs. B gave an inspirational speech about the freedoms and the importance of knowing our history.

Special Memorials-

I too loved the statues that depicted the long bread lines. I loved the pose with a student and Eleanor. That was too cute.

�I have seen war--I hate war�

I really loved the kid�s reflections. The Viet Nam Black Wall is my favorite memorial. We have pencil sketch names of people Mike served with who never made it home except to be a name on that big black wall. It rained the day we first saw it. I have to admit I was choked up when the one student said�"There were so many names on the wall..." It really gives a person a feeling of the enormous toll of loss of life from this war.

The Branches of Government-

Just amazing to see where history happens. It is not just something on TV but something real.

The paintings in the dome were just breathtaking.

It is just truly a surge of patriotism that runs through me as I watched these clips.

Museums-

I enjoyed your piece on Route 66 and the Negro Motorist Guide Book was fascinating. It is sort of sad that this was necessary and our country lived through such dark times but the other is that a book WAS able to produced and put into the hands that those who would benefit from it.

Other Washington Sites-

I enjoyed the clips of different sites that were points of interest. It was watching the best of the best.

The Final Night with Mrs. B.

Great shots of the landmarks. The awards were cute and what is a trip without the gift shops.

Arlington National Cemetery

It is impossible for me to view this clip without feeling such a rush of pride to be an American and to be humbled by those who have sacrificed so that I may be free. The playing of Taps by the bugle will never cease to touch my heart. What a wonderful opportunity for those four children who were the HONOR GUARDS.

How did you arrange this ceremony for your school? That was truly awesome to view.

WOW! I loved it. I felt like I was along for the trip. Thank you for sharing it with me.

�THANK YOU MRS. B- WHEREVER YOU ARE.�

PS: I still really really really want one of those Hershey KISS caps.

previous - next

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!