Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-11-06 - 2:19 a.m.

Oh my God, now here is a product that I truly would consider buying, if I can find the nerve to actually use it. One thing I can't stand is TVs on in the retaurants that I go to, and that has become an epidemic, at least from what I see in the Los Angeles area. I wonder if other people actually like them? I can't imagine why they do, you can't really enjoy a TV in a restaurant, they clearly are just a distraction. So to have a tiny little zapper that you can carry on your keychain and discretely use from your table, that will sort through several remote control codes until it finds the one that will shut off the offending TV, I love it!

Next the inventor of that product ought to come up with one that will shut off cell phones. I can't stand people eating in a restaurant and yakking on their cell phone. It's terribly rude when they are with somebody else, but I hate it when they are alone. People like this have made public places much noiser, because it used to be that at least people eating by themselves were quiet, but now they're talking loudly all the time. And the same with grocery stores. Solitary shoppers used to be quiet shoppers, but now they're walking up and down the aisles carrying on telephone conversations via their headsets. I can't stand it. I don't want to hear that stuff when I am out shopping.

About a month ago, I went out to dinner at an elegant steak house and there was a party of 20 people there sitting at a long table celebrating the 90th birthday of a woman who was a relative of all of them. But they all kept using their cell phones throughout the dinner, not only receiving calls, but making them, too! I don't think that poor woman felt very celebrated at all. She might have actually wanted to carry on a conversation with one of her guests, except they were on the phone! Heck, the steak house might as well have had a television.

If the movie, The Matrix, is a genuine representation of what is really going on, then cell phones are what connect people to the Matrix and televisions are the soporific that keeps people's consciousness asleep.

previous - next

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!