Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-11-12 - 10:11 a.m.

This will be just a quicky.

Last Wednesday was the opening day of the movie I had been looking forward to, The Polar Express, and when I looked to see where it was playing, I discovered that there was also an IMAX 3D version of the movie. Well, if there is one thing I love as much children's movies, it's IMAX, so despite the fact that the film was playing "flat" only a quick ten-minute drive from where I work, I took the time to go to an IMAX theater, instead. Just from looking at the poster of the movie with that HUGE railroad engine towering vertically, and with the swirls of snow flurries flying all around, I just knew that seeing the movie this way would be to put me right INTO the movie.

And boy, did it ever!

I really did ride on the Polar Express to the North Pole.

This was, without a doubt, the most amazing movie I have ever seen. It had everything--adventure, thrills, suspense, humor, love, heart, and soul, and with practically an unlimited number of wondrous details. For me, it was really "grab onto your seat" thrilling. It was like riding every ride at Disneyland every day for a week. And it was just so well done, a perfect blending of reality with the artistry required for the fantasy aspect, making the whole thing into what I think of as "hyper-reality."

I definitely recommend that you see this movie and I am sure that even on a flat screen, it will be very beautiful. But if you can find an IMAX theater, that is DEFINITELY the better choice and a must-do, if you can.

I want to say much more about this film later, but I'd rather that be for those who have already seen it. So recommending it now in this entry on the brink of the weekend, and then writing about it more in depth later, ends up being a good choice, I think.

Enjoy the movie! It will be hard to keep from saying "Merry Christmas" to everybody after you come out of the theater. I forget that it is still only mid-November! But I'm fully into Christmas, now. And why not be? Christmas should last all year, anyway.

previous - next

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!